top of page

My Brainiversary

While I was lying on a hospital trolley, my girlfriend of six months, Sarah, told me that her divorce had just been completed. Within hours, I’d slipped into a coma. “Nice try,” she thought. When I awoke two days later she was still there. With the best of intentions, I suggested that she should find someone else as I would most likely be a burden for her. She wouldn’t budge.

Today, 8th April 2015, is exactly six years since my brain haemorrhage. We call it our “brainiversary/divorciversary”. Tomorrow is our 4th wedding anniversary. Two years ago, only three months after moving to our dream home in the Welsh countryside, Sarah was diagnosed with breast cancer. After two operations, four gruelling months of chemotherapy and a course of radiotherapy, she has now beaten cancer.

We now live very full lives. We began with a three week Route 66 adventure last summer. We have taken up jiving – she has to be careful of her left arm after the removal of her lymph nodes, and I have to be careful of my head as it has thousands of pounds worth of platinum in it. We have invested in a multi-gym in the spare room. We have altered our diets and we are hell bent on living to 100.

I have written a humorous e-book, I’M NEVER ILL (A journey through brain surgery and beyond...), about our experiences and how they have changed our lives for the better. We want to share our amazing story of survival with others to help promote positive thinking and appreciation of life. Yeah, of course, I also want to sell lots of books so that we can take a well-earned break from our day jobs, but we have a great story that I believe most people would enjoy.

You can download it from Amazon or from the Home page on this website.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Archive
bottom of page